#SoCS April 7/18 – Doctor Roberts-Jones

Linda’s prompt for SoCS this week…

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “passive/aggressive.” Use one, use both, bonus points if you start your post with one or the other. Enjoy!

Passive. That’s how I knew I needed to be in order to survive.

Once upon a time, he had been charming. He’d been kind. You wouldn’t think it to look at him now. All fierce, vicious and cruel. An open can from his six pack of beer in one hand and his other hand curled into a fist. His eyes glazing on me.

The monster in the house, the gentleman outdoors. Doctor Jones-Roberts, the well-respected doctor I might add. They would never believe it of him.

Once upon a time he had been kind. He had been charming. He had been sweet. And he continued to be outside. But inside he was so different.

My best mate Barry wanted me to leave him. But we had a son. Adopted in better times. And we had to show a happy front. I was the happy family man Mr. Roberts-Jones.

He knocked me out of my standing and I just thought it was a regular Saturday night. I’ve made my bed and now I must lie in it.

That’s what my mother always said.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.