Big Brother: The Aftermath

Last night Isabelle Warburton was revealed as the new Big Brother winner. Following her win she revealed that she will help raise awareness of mental health conditions as she knows people who have been affected by them.

‘I was thinking [of donating to] something like Mind my brother ran for them in the London Marathon so something along the lines of that would be good. I just think that mental health is pretty neglected because people don’t see it physically, a broken leg is given more attention than something in people’s head. It’s so important to raise awareness. I’d never say I’d suffered from anything severe but I do know people who have.’

As someone who knew someone very close to me who suffered from depression I think this is great and very admirable and I know exactly where she’s coming from. Even in this day and age sadly there is still s stigma which surrounds mental health issues which is very sad and very wrong.

Meanwhile second chance housemate winner Andrew Cruickshanks revealed during his interview with Emma Willis that he would be donating some of his winning money towards helping people living in poverty in Ghana. Again very admirable.

4th place finalist Tom Barber revealed how he left the house days before the final to go to hospital for a brain scan. Speaking about his bromance with fellow contestant Kieran Lee he said,

“I love him to bits, he helped me through a lot. I got ill, I had to go out and have a brain scan and stuff, ear infection, tonsillitis. I was like, ‘I can’t go any longer’ and [Kieran] was like, ‘You’ve got a couple of days left so keep going’. So, massively, I love him.”

3rd place finalist Deborah Agboola told Rylan Clark-Neal that she and Kieran were just friends and has said she would love her own TV show. I’d definitely watch it.

Runner-up Raph Korine said his ideal guy was,

‘Someone interested in culture, someone who is confident. Confidence is important’.

Raph added that ‘a nice smile’ would be top of his list when it comes to looks.

Talking of finding love in the future he said,

‘You shouldn’t be looking for love – if it comes to you it comes to you – if you look for it too much you’re focusing on the wrong things.’

Exactly Raph!

Raph also said that he hoped to show the diversity in the gay community.

‘There are many different types of gay people, you don’t have to be a certain way. I came out because I wanted to be comfortable within myself. People expect that I’m straight. I don’t want people to assume things about me.’

Meanwhile it has been reported that contestant Simone Reed was removed from the final after allegedly spitting at Andrew Cruickshanks following his exit from the house.

On a more happy note, contestant Hannah Agboola posted a video on her Twitter page of herself, her sister Deborah and Raph singing and dancing at the aftershow party to Hannah’s theme tune in the house Love, Peace and Harmony. That was fun to watch.

Hope everyone had a fantastic night and thanks to everyone involved for a great show! 🙂

Watch the moment Isabelle won here:

 

Well done Isabelle and all the finalists! 🙂

And well done Raph & Andrew for brilliantly representing the LGBTQ+ community from someone who is also part of the LGBTQ+ community. 🙂

Leave a Reply

