The Voice UK Final Review: The Winner Is Crowned!

As you can see in my previous post Kevin Simm was crowned the winner of the 5th season of The Voice UK. Below is my final live show review of the season:

Jolan Gidney-Craigen – Gladys Knight & the Pips – I Heard It Through The Grapevine

Proceedings were got under way by the first of team Ricky’s finalists Jolan. I think Jolan took on a very big song here which was admirable but I didn’t feel it suited him and again like last week that surprised me because I thought it might. I love the song so much that it needed to hit me and sadly it didn’t.

Lydia Lucy – Alicia Keys – No One

Next up was team Will’s finalist Lydia. Sadly I don’t think this performance really worked to be honest.

Kevin Simm – Rihanna ft Mikky Ekko – Stay

Next up was the first performance by the newest champ. I loved the styling and the staging. It is probably unpopular to say but I didn’t enjoy his vocal on it. I actually preferred Kevin’s performances prior to the live shows really.

Cody Frost – Tears For Fears – Mad World

The final came to life for me when Cody sung this song which was a perfect song choice for her. It was haunting and beautiful.

Next up was the duets with the coaches:

Jolan Gidney-Craigen and Ricky Wilson – Lenny Kravitz – Are You Gonna Go My Way

I love this song and it didn’t work. Jolan is good on the guitar though.

Cody Frost and Boy George – John Lennon – Imagine

This was beautiful. The only thing was that I did feel like George sung most of the song and it would have been nice if Cody had sung a bit more too. But it did sound good.

Kevin Simm and Ricky Wilson – The Killers – Mr. Brightside

I love The Killers and this didn’t work. I think the problem for me with both Jolan’s and Kevin’s duets with Ricky were that they were two rock songs that I love and they sounded kind of poppy and commercial which is fine but it’s not how I see those particular songs.

Lydia Lucy and Will.I.Am – Will.I.Am – Boys & Girls

I enjoyed this performance. It was probably my favourite of the duets on the night. Very creative staging too.

Throughout the night we seen the finalists going home for their homecomings, we were invited via television to Kevin’s sister’s wedding to her new husband and we had appearances from The Kaiser Chiefs and Cyndi Lauper both of who I love so that was pretty brilliant. The other finalists who didn’t make the final were also there in the V room and it was lovely to see them all back especially Jordan.

Soon the final 2 were revealed and it was time for both Jolan and Kevin to sing the winner’s song All You Good Friends. I’m not crazy about the song so I agree with Boy George on that but I hope it does well for the charity and good luck Kevin! 🙂

The Winner’s Single

Jolan Gidney-Craigen – All You Good Friends

Kevin Simm – All You Good Friends

And the guest performances for the final were Meghan Trainor and Shawn Mendes:

Meghan Trainor – NO

Shawn Mendes – Stitches

Finally to end let’s relive Kevin’s winning moment:

Download Kevin’s track now at:

http://po.st/KeviniTunes

 

 

Leave a Reply

