Rule The World Rules The World!

 

The English Grand National at Aintree took place for it’s annual outing. The 179th winner was the Mouse Morris trained Rule The World which completed the Irish and English Grand National double for the Irish trainer. It was also a double National win for Gigginstown House Stud who own both Rule The World and Irish National champ Rogue Angel.

David Mullins, in his first ride in the race bet The Last Samuri (8-1 joint favourite) and Vics Canvas (100-1) in a comeback on the run-in abroad Rule The World with Gilgamboa (28-1) finishing fourth with Goonyella (12-1) fifth.

Mouse Morris said after,

“This is just magic. I’ve got great friends who stood by me and helped. I’d have settled for third at the Elbow but he ran on like a train. He has broken his pelvis in two falls and before that he was one of the best horses I ever had.”

Mullins said it was “special and magic” and added,

“It was just amazing. I’ve never had a feeling like this and it all went to plan. To get the call to ride this horse was amazing. The fact that it is his first win over fences is more amazing than me winning on my first time around.”

Michael O’Leary said,

“I don’t know what to feel, I’m numb. I thought I had no chance in it. I wanted to win a Gold Cup and it was beyond dreams that I could win a Grand National. To win a Gold Cup, Irish National and Grand National in one year – I think I should stop, it’s not going to get any better than this.”

My mum who is on a bit of a National roll at the moment had Vic’s Canvas each-way so well done Mam! 🙂

Well done Rule The World and all concerned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

