My Top 7 Tips For The English Grand National 2016!

horseheads

 

It’s that time of year again when the horses go to post for the thriller at Aintree and I’ve been looking over the horses set to race on Saturday at 5.15pm. So Culture Vulture Express’ admin (Yes that’s me! Not a big operation here! :-)) has below compiled seven tips in the big race. I tried my best! 🙂

Katenko

aiden-coleman-katenko-1030x686

I love Venetia Williams as a trainer. Over the years I’ve had quite a few winners that were trained by Venetia Williams. Sadly not Mon Mome though which won this race all the way back in 2009 at 200/1. A very good horse which has sadly had a lot of injuries but I do have a lot of faith in this horse and I’m hopeful he has a good run in the race.

Soll

soll-return

Soll has always been a very reliable, steady horse and has been placed a lot in his career. Some might think this horse is past his best but I think there’s life in this older horse yet. He has a lot of experience over this track and has every chance.

The Last Samurai

the_last_samuri-large_transqvzuuqpflyliwib6ntmjwfsvwez_ven7c6bhu2jjnt8

Winner of the Grimthorpe Chase at Doncaster, this horse is 2 from 3 since joining the Kim Bailey stable and has a very good chance here. His trainer previously won the race in 1990 with Mr. Frisk. This horse is usually a very good stayer.

Kruzhlinin

Kruzhlinin

Previously with trainer Donald McCain, he has previously finished 10th in the race. The McCain stable are of course great at training horses for this race but he has since moved to another impressive trainer Phillip Hobbs and won his first race for the stable at Kempton.

Boston Bob

boston-bob-first-lieutenant_3133709

Winner of the Bobbyjo Chase at Fairyhouse this year, this horse is a grafter and can never be ruled out. Like Soll many think he is past his beat but I wouldn’t be so sure about that.

First Lieutenant

pg-56-first-lietenant-getty

Got this horse in the sweepstake and I was very pleased about that. He is usually a good stayer which is an obvious plus for this race. Could Mouse Morris get the double?

Aachen

js31880204

I started with one of Venetia Williams’ horses in this race so it seems fitting to end with one too. This horse has a lot of potential and I expect a good run on the day from Aachen.

 

Good luck everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

