Rogue Angel Wins The Irish Grand National

 

The Mouse Morris trained Rogue Angel became the latest winner of the Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse Racetrack today.

Winning at a starting price of 16/1 Ger Fox helped guide Rogue Angel home after leading from the start just holding off the Gordon Elliott trained Bless The Wings ridden by Ruby Walsh who was 12/1.

Third place went to 33/1 shot Ballyadam Approach with fourth going to Folsom Blue, Rogue Angel’s stablemate.

Winning jockey Ger Fox said following his win,

“I’m still pinching myself – I can’t believe it. This is my local track and I’m just trying to take it all in, it’s brilliant. I’ve only ridden him twice and he’s given me a Kerry National and an Irish National. My thanks go to Mouse Morris and Michael and Eddie O’Leary (of Gigginstown House Stud) for giving me the chance on him again. I did what I did in the Kerry National, just jumped out in front and let him do his own thing. He jumped from fence to fence and I think he only made two mistakes on the way round. What he has is guts and when he got headed, he battled back and got back up again. He never gives up. This means the world to me. Rides are getting slim at the moment, so to get something like this should be a great help.”

Mouse Morris paid tribute to his late son Christopher following the win,

“It’s unbelievable. Tiffer (Christopher) was looking down on me today. He helped me there. That’s just special.  I gave Ger no instructions. He knew the horse as he had rode him in Listowel and won a Kerry National on him, so there was no need for instructions. The fourth horse ran a blinder as well and I couldn’t be happier.”

My mum did two horses in the race Rogue Angel and Bless The Wings so it was very exciting in our house. I think she should have did the blog tips earlier! 🙂

Congrats Rogue Angel and all concerned and of course to my mum too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

