Jaymi Hensley Speaks About Been A Patron of Little Havens Children’s Hospice In Now Magazine

I recently read Union J’s Jaymi Hensley’s interview in Now Magazine where he talked about been a patron of Little Havens children’s hospice in Essex. It is very emotional reading about the struggles which young people and their families face and definitely makes you realise that the things we worry about on a daily basis are really not that overly important. Little Havens looks after babies, children and teenagers who haven’t long to live and strives to make sure they get to enjoy their short lives.

Speaking about how he became involved with the charity Jaymi said,

“In August, Now invited me and the rest of the band to help with their Greenfingers garden project. It was such an amazing day. The hospice is a fantastic place and the kids are incredible.”

Speaking about why he chose to become an ambassador Jaymi revealed about his own personal tragedy of losing his friend who he visited in a hospice when he was younger,

“I’ve visited hospices before and they always brought back bad memories of the times I visited my friend who passed away from a brain tumour when we were 14. They took great care of him there, but it wasn’t a nice place to be. I was actually really nervous before I first visited Little Havens. I got really upset. But as soon as I arrived it was completely different from what I’d expected. It’s a brilliant place. All my fears disappeared and I was inspired to become an ambassador.”

Speaking about the hospice he said,

“They’ve got something so special going on – it’s friendly and so vibrant. The children are all very poorly and I can’t imagine the stress their families must be going through, but the staff are incredible and there’s something about the place that makes everyone feel calm and forget about everything for a while.”

Speaking about the children and teenagers he met at the hospice Jaymi said,

“Ah, they were amazing – such cool characters, aged from one to 18. Annie’s hilarious. She’s a huge fan of Union J and we were doing karaoke and getting pictures taken together. Then there’s little Rosie who’s 15 months – she’s so cheeky and was enjoying winding everyone up.”

And speaking about their parents he said,

“The parents make me feel more emotional than the children do. It’s the families who get left behind and I can’t imagine that. I don’t have kids but I will one day and it’s awful, the loss for the parents.”

He said it has put a lot of things into perspective for him,

“They put everything into perspective – like, on my way here in the car I was stressing about moving house and what I was going to buy everyone for Christmas, but being with these kids and their families made me think: ‘What am I panicking about?’ They’ve made me wake up to what’s important and have had such a positive impact on my life. I have my family and I’m blessed.”

He said how he hopes to visit again before Christmas,

“I’m trying to arrange a day when we can go down and have a fun day and perform with them. It’s so cool – the kids don’t care that I’m in a band. I’m just this really happy, loud guy who comes in and has fun with them.”

To help Little Havens go to:

http://www.havenshospices.org.uk/

Leave a Reply

