Andrea Faustini Speaks To OK! Magazine!

I want to be best friends with Andrea Faustini! He’s amazing and it was great reading his interview with OK! Magazine in which the Italian X Factor semi-finalist donned the whole English Gentleman look with clothes supplied by Moss Bros amongst others. The interview took place in the Kensington Hotel and Faustini, 20, spoke about his family, his love life, his past singing experiences, famous fans, his fellow contestants, the X Factor judges, British food and culture and how he will remain true to himself.

Speaking about his close relationship with his family, he said,

“I used to share every single moment with my family. My sister was like my best friend. Just lying on the sofa at home, talking and laughing with them. They come and see me whenever they can. So that is important to me. We try to be in contact every day with Skype and FaceTime. When they come over for a weekend I get to spend time with them.”

Was so sweet reading that because I’m really close to my family too and my sister has always been like my best friend too. πŸ™‚

On the topic of his love life he said how he has never been in a relationship or never been kissed saying,

“No, I have never been in a relationship. It just hasn’t happened. I was kissed by a dolphin in Mexico.”

And admitted he has never had his heart broken saying,

“No, fortunately.”

But this is not his first time doing the whole reality TV singing thing. He was previously the winner of Italian talent show Ti Lascio Una Canzone and said of the experience,

“I was only 13. It was a good experience. It helped me to grow. Maybe it helped performing in front of big audiences.”

And he has tried for the Italian X Factor too,

“I tried four times. The first three times I didn’t even get to go before the judges. This year, I did and got four yeses. But I got them here. So I made a choice and my choice was England!”

Yes, I understand! We all know producer’s rounds well who do auditions for singing shows! πŸ™‚

And he spoke about finally getting to the judges’ round saying,

“I am a huge fan of The X Factor UK. I admire the way the shows made, the music choices and the atmosphere in the studio. A lot of famous singers have come from the show. I couldn’t believe I was going in front of the judges. At first, it was just like a holiday. There were thousands of people and I thought, why would they pick me? But then everything happened so fast.”

When asked how he felt about Kate Moss and Ed Sheeran been fans he said,

“I used to see them on TV at home and now they’re rooting for me. It’s weird but beautiful.”

On the topic of his fellow contestants he was asked if he was sad when current I’m A Celebrity … Get Me Out Of Here! contestant Jake Quickenden went out of the show,

“I was very sad. I was also sad about Lola and Paul going. I got on with Jake from the start and I think he saw me as a little brother. He was very protective of me.”

Speaking about Jake going into the jungle he said,

“I think he’ll be fine. He’s the sort of person who can deal with all different sorts of situations, and the type who will be nice to everyone.”

Asked about his favourite contestants he said,

“I did like Paul. I thought he had an amazing voice. I also like Lauren; she is so young, talented and very mature considering her age.”

But he admitted no one on the show caught his eye saying,

“Oh, no!”

Speaking about his mentor Mel B he said,

“I love her! She’s very easy to speak to and is very humble. She works hard. She’s not just a judge to me. She is like a friend. She helps me in the choice of song, staging and production. I am happy just to be working with her. She is not so scary!”

Speaking about Simon Cowell’s comments from Big Band week when he did a flawless performance of Ella Fitzgerald’s Summertime he said,

“I’m not happy but I know his comments are important. He said I pull faces. But I will try not to think about it while I’m singing. Otherwise I am done for. I want to please Simon so fingers crossed! (laughs) I read he had apologised to me and Lauren. I think that’s fair. He is the boss and I think the fact he apologised shows he cares.”

Speaking about moving judge Cheryl Fernandez-Versini to tears with his emotive singing voice he said,

“You put everything into what you sing. If you see somebody crying that means you’re doing something good.”

Speaking about Britain he said,

“It’s not my first time here but I just love this country and the city. Rome and London are both beautiful but so different. I like the atmosphere of London. It seems very modern. You can find literally everything you want here. Although it is also full of art and history – similar to Rome. I like fish and chips, cottage pie but you are not good at pasta. I’m sorry. You try, that is commendable. But please stop trying! I have just found a new thing that I love – Terry’s Chocolate Orange!”

Speaking about remaining true to himself in an industry where certain images of people are encouraged he said,

“If I don’t like something I can speak up. It’s me on that stage so I have to be happy with what I’m doing or wearing. I still eat everything that is in front of me. I’m not changing.”

And we all love you just as you are Andrea! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

