OutCry E.P. 2014 Review!

I’m a huge fan of OutCry and so I was really looking forward to hearing their E.P. and it didn’t disappoint. The four song rock wonder is packed with wonderful instrumentals and vocals which perfectly complement one another. I have always loved James Byron’s voice from the first note of Janis Joplin’s Cry Baby on The Voice UK and his voice is as always in fine form on the E.P. but what was also great was to hear the wonderful instrumentals and harmonies on show here from his bandmates guitarist Scott Cadenhead, bassist Rick James and drummer Alex Brookes on the collection of songs. A strong debut E.P. from a band I’m sure we’ll hear more of over time.

Here is my track-by-track review of this amazing E.P.:

Daybreak

Daybreak is the opening song and is one of my two favorite songs from the E.P. James’ voice sounds remarkable on this track. It has the perfect mixture of vulnerability and attitude. Lyrically it’s really good and the music has a great beat to it. Easily a song you could listen to on repeat (and I say that because I have!) The transfer from fast to slow is wonderfully done and the guitar solo is completely on point. I also love the start of the song which seems a mixture of classic rock/punk influenced. Stunning track.

Wide Awake

Wide Awake is one of those songs that doesn’t hit you instantly but the more you listen to it you begin to like it. It’s a bit of a grower really and in particular you realise the lyrics are really good the more you listen to it. There’s a kind of a storytelling quality to the song and in James’ voice in general which pulls you in. And the instrumentals are quite insane. That bit near the end is so quick. I don’t know how James manages to keep up with the instrumentals in that part. It’s pretty impressive! So give it a few listens and you’ll really like it.

In to the Night

I’m not sure if this song is about getting out of a small town but I think it’s what it’s about and I could relate a lot to that been originally from a small town and it was realistic and authentic of that situation when you are eighteen, nighteen, twenty and you’re thinking there has to be more to life than this. James sings it brilliantly and again the instrumentals are complex and strong.

Rock N’ Roll Tragedy

This is another one of my favourite songs from the E.P. and my favourite song from the songs I hadn’t heard prior to the E.P. because obviously I’d heard Daybreak before the E.P. Personally myself I start thinking of people like Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix and a whole host of legendary rockers when I listen to the song because their lives were so tragic in a lot of ways and how it all ended for each of them. James’ voice is full of edge and the instrumentals sound amazing.

You can listen to the E.P. here:

Leave a Reply

