Rocking Out To Electric Picnic! (On the TV!)

It was brilliant recently when Rte 2 did a highlights show presented by Eoghan McDermott and Jenny Greene with co-presenting duties going to Al Porter and Blathnaid Treacy. It was brilliant for people like myself who can’t afford to get to these festivals but can still see what went on. I loved it and by the end of the night when Chic and Nile Rodgers were on I was up dancing around the living-room. So I have below compiled my highlights from the event which was a difficult job seeing as it was a great event this year and even doing this I’m leaving out a lot of people who were stellar at the event.

Hozier

I’m a major fan so anytime Hozier performs at a festival I would like his set. He just has this unique, husky singing voice and his songs hit you hard. He isn’t exactly hard on the eye either …

Paolo Nutini

Talking of not bad on the eye Scotland’s finest Paolo Nutini is a long-time crush of mine. I fancied in school and still do. I left school 7 years ago or so! His looks are enduring, shall we say?! But let’s be honest Nutini has always been more than just a pretty face. He is really talented at what he does and he has even revamped a few of the old hits to perfection.

http://www.frequency.com/video/paolo-nutini-interview-at-electric/190625856?cid=5-115060

Pet Shop Boys

The Pet Shop Boys are a band I have always liked since I heard West End Girls as a kid. There was something very haunting and innovative about the track and that got me onto their other stuff. They were great at the event this year too and put on a show as always.

Blondie

Debbie Harry is a real inspiration because she is a rock chick and anyone who is I always admire! Taking on the boys at a game their more known for and winning! Yeah she is defo my kind of person! And she was amazing with her band as always here and I loved her outfit too. It was wacky and fab! đŸ™‚

The Stranglers

The Stranglers are a band who I’ve heard and liked a few songs from and liked but never really knew about. They are brilliant at what they do and I think the keyboardist is especially talented. I always loved his bit in Golden Brown.

And finally …

Al Porter

I know he wasn’t one of the performers but he was amazing. Very funny and really good at what he does. Here he is talking to the locals from Stradbally in Laois where the event took place.

Who was your favourite from Electric Picnic 2014?!

Leave a Reply

