The Amazing James Byron!

I really love James Byron's music and style.

I really love James Byron’s music and style.

Since hearing James Byron’s voice on The Voice UK and seeing his style I have become both obsessed with his music and his fashion sense. I suppose a lot to his story too. I was bullied at school too and I kind of went a bit shyer too. When people put you down for who you are it can make you kind of not be yourself so much and it stays with you, you know it’s a hard thing to shake off when it’s been ingrained in you quite early in your life. Besides all that rock ‘n’ roll is where my heart lies. I love every kind of music in varying degrees but it is kind of who I am if that makes sense. It comes natural to me to do the whole rock thing where other genres require a bit more effort. I also love a lot of old artists and when I’m not been a lazy cow I do dress in the rock way. That would be my style with the whole black nail vanish, jeans, leather jackets, long chains, boots, black eyeshadow and liner, black leggings, red lipstick, etc … and I think it is amazing that there is someone in our generation bringing back that whole music and style that was in the older eras. It’s exciting to be able to witness that in real time as opposed to looking back at old stars.

James Byron is from Leicester and took part in The Voice UK this year as part of Team Will. He got to the Knockouts stage. The 24-year-old’s musical education was done in Leicester and then in Brighton. Here he studied at the Institute of Modern music in 2011. His inspirations include Janis Joplin’s, whose song Cry Baby he sang at his Blind audition), Tina Turner, Amy Winehouse and Lucinda Williams. His album of 12 songs is about his personal relationships and experiences and he has said of the album,

” Performing music for me is cathartic and helps me look at myself from an out ward perspective, I enjoy exposing those things in life that make me laugh, cringe, angry and want to cry because its something we can all relate too and learn from.” 

He has erformed with the Brighton Institute of modern music’s house band in Brighton at the Komedia in 2011 and has performed at the open mic circuits in Brighton and is now back in Leicester working on his music.

”My career objective is to work very hard and create timeless music with a modern and honest twist, I would really love to perform on Jools Holland someday.”

 

He also comes across really lovely and genuine. Here he is welcoming everyone to his YouTube channel. He talks a lot about his musical inspirations. It’s very interesting.:

James is an incredible songwriter. The professionalism is amazing in them. You forget that your listening to someone that was on The Voice and you think your actually listening to a signed recording artist. There is so much emotion and realness in both the lyrics and his voice and the music goes great with the songs. He is a brilliant guitar player. Like so many guitar players he makes it look effortless and it isn’t. I tried it when I was younger. It is bloody hard to play the guitar! Or maybe that’s just me but anyhow. 🙂

Here is a selection of James’ amazing original songs:

Good Enough

Rage Through Me

2 Days

Watch This Space

And he does covers really well too. Here a selection of his covers both from The Voice and other covers:

Sam Cooke – A Change Is Gonna Come

Flying Burruto Brothers – The Dark End Of The Street

Etta James – I’d Rather Go Blind

Buffy Sainte-Marie – Codeine

Amy Winehouse – Wake Up Alone

Janis Joplin – Cry Baby

Patti Smith – Because The Night with Kiki De Ville

Nazareth – Love Hurts

Links

Official Website: http://www.jamesbyronnorval.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/JamesNorvalMusic

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/jamesnorvalmusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ByronBlueJay

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jamesbyronmusic

