Ellen Page Comes Out

Ellen made the brave decision to come out as gay

Ellen made the brave decision to come out as gay

Actress Ellen Page has revealed that she is a lesbian saying,

“I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission.”

The 26-year-old star, was nominated for an Oscar for her part in Juno, came out at a Las Vegas conference for gay teenagers.

“I’m here today because I am gay. And because … maybe I can make a difference,” she said. “To help others have an easier and more hopeful time. Regardless, for me, I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility.”

She has also starred in Inception, Peacock, Hard Candy and To Rome with Love and X-Men: The Last Stand and she is also currently working on Freeheld which is a drama about a terminally ill police detective and her struggle to assign her retirement benefits to her lesbian lover, who will be played by Julianne Moore.

Page also spoke in her speech about her suffering for years because she was scared to go public about her sexuality.

“My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered. And I’m standing here today, with all of you, on the other side of all that pain.”

Time to THRIVE organiser Human Rights Campaign tweeted the news and wrote: ‘Congratulations, @EllenPage for taking the steps to live openly and come out as lesbian. #comingout #timetoTHRIVE (sic).’

Page in her speech also praised others like athlete Michael Sam, who revealed he was gay this month and he could become the National Football League’s first openly homosexual player.

Congrats Ellen on been so brave. I’m glad you’ve come out the other side of all your pain. Best of luck with everything.

Watch Ellen’s inspirational and brave speech below:

Leave a Reply

