Cristiano Ronaldo Wins The Ballon d’Or!

Cristiano Ronaldo won this year's ballon d'or!

Cristiano Ronaldo won this year’s ballon d’or!

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the FIFA World Player of the Year for the second time. Ronaldo won ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s Franck Ribery to win the prestigious Ballon d’Or. 

Real Madrid player Ronaldo was visibly emotional as he walked onto the stage to collect his award with his little son Cristiano to receive the trophy. The last time Ronaldo won the award was in 2008.

Ronaldo was the runner-up for the Ballon d’Or to Messi in 2009, 2011 and 2012.

Pele announced the winner at the ceremony which took place in Zurich and Ronaldo bowed his head and then turned to kiss his girlfriend Irina Shayk.

Upon collecting the award, the handsome footballer, who looked dapper in a black suit and white shirt combo, thanked his family, girlfriend, Real Madrid team-mates and Portugal team-mates and paid tribute to Portugal legend Eusebio, who sadly died away last week.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s