The Strength of Our Love: Union J, Mostly George and Jaymi Fanfic Part 2!

Jaymi Hensley!

Jaymi Hensley!

George Shelley!

George Shelley!

Here is the second part of my fanfic The Strength of Our Love:

Title: The Strength of Our Love

Disclaimer: I don’t know Union J and I’m not saying anything about their real sexualities. What I’m writing is complete fiction.

 

George looked at Jaymi looking at his mobile phone as the four of them sat together in the canteen area of The X Factor studios. He knew he was avoiding him the best he could and he knew who he was texting. Or trying to text really because he wasn’t very good at texting. Olly!, he thought bitterly and he knew he shouldn’t be thinking so bitterly. He was his boyfriend after all. Who else would he be texting?! JJ and Josh decided to get up to get extra drinks.

“Do you want me to help you guys?”, Jaymi asked quickly.

“No, you’re fine. We can get them.”, JJ smiled and him and Josh went over to the drinks machine. Jaymi went back to texting.

“This is ridiculous.”, George said awkwardly.

 Jaymi didn’t reply. His mouth curved slightly but otherwise he made no visible reaction to George’s comment.

“Jaymi, say something please. I kissed you. It’s not like I hit or anything.”

Jaymi looked around quickly making sure that no one had heard that.

“You keep your voice down! It’s alright for you. You’re single. I have a fiance!”

“I know and do you think I want to be after a guy who has a fiance?! Of course I don’t! But Jaymi I really like you. But it’s completely up to you on your side. It’s just the way you’re reacting is a bit extreme.”

“Extreme?!”

“Well yeah. I mean if you don’t want me fine. I’ll understand. But I would like to think we could still be friends.”

“You can’t be friends with someone who fancies you.”

“Do you really think that or is that the easy way out?”

“You have no idea what I’m going through.”

“How could I? You’re not exactly opening up to me, are you?”

“None of it is easy and no I’m not opening up to you because I barely know you! You might have made up this connection in your head but it doesn’t exist in reality George. You made it all up in your head.”

“Then why didn’t you stop me kissing you at first?”

“Because you had me pressed to the bed.”, Jaymi practically whispered.

“You have a bit more strength than that! You pushed me off with enough force when you finally did push me off.”

“I don’t want to talk about this anymore and I don’t have to.”

“Do you love him?”

Jaymi hesitates before speaking.

“Of course I love him! That’s a stupid question! I’m living with him, I’m going to marry him. Of course I love him!”

“Really?! You sound like your trying to convince yourself!”

“Oh you’d love that to be true, wouldn’t you?! Well get over yourself! I feel nothing for you! You’re just a stupid lovesick kid!”

“Kid?! I’m only a few years younger than you!”

Josh and JJ came back with the drinks and that puts an end to their row.

 

Later George waited until he realised that Jaymi was in the room himself and went up to the door. When he opened the door slightly, he could hear Jaymi on the phone.

“Olly we’re going to do some rehearsing later … Yeah, I miss you too.”

He ended the call and lay into his pillow crying. George went in, closed the door and walked over to the bed. He sat down on the side of the bed and put his hand on Jaymi’s arm gently.

“Jaymi, are you alright?”, he asked softly.

He was starting to feel very protective towards Jaymi lately. He guessed it was love.

“No. Do I look alright?”, Jaymi said sitting up at the other side of the bed wiping his tears.

“Don’t be embarrassed about crying.”

“Look, I don’t want to talk to you about it.”

“Jaymi why did you tell Olly we were rehearsing later? We’re not!”

“Eavesdropping, were you?”

“No, just …”

“Because I don’t want to talk to him later. Because every time I hear his voice I feel guilty. He’s back at home thinking everything’s Ok and it’s not and I hate myself for that.”

“But you haven’t done anything wrong on him.”

“You’re right about the kiss. I didn’t resist at first and I have considered cheating on him with you so many times and it’s not right on him. He’s a good person.”

“But you don’t love him anymore?”

“I never said that.”, Jaymi says and gets up from the bed.

George stands up and catches his arm.

“Jaymi, you’re not a bad person.”

“Sometimes it doesn’t feel like that.”, Jaymi replies, shaking his arm free from George’s grip and walking to the door where he stops and turns around.

“George, I’m sorry for snapping so much at you. It’d not your fault. You’re free and single to do what you want. This mess is completely my fault.”

And with that he has left before George gets the chance to say that he thinks it’s as much his fault as his.

 

George sits at the bar sipping his drink. Josh sits in the chair beside him and orders a drink from the bar man.

“So mate do you fancy going out to pull a few birds later?”

“Ha?”

“To pull a few birds?”

George knew he had to put a stop to this. If he didn’t Josh would be introducing him to various ladies and then it would get really awkward.

“Josh, can I tell you something?”

The bar man comes back with Josh’s drink.

“Thanks mate.”, Josh says before turning back to George,

“Yeah, of course you can.”

“Well …”, George began and stopped.

“What is it? Come on tell me. It can’t be that big.”

“I’m not really into meeting any birds.”

“Oh you’re career-orientated. That’s fine. I get that.”

“No! I mean … I mean that I’m gay.”

Josh looks offended.

“Why didn’t you tell me?!”

“I didn’t know how you’d react.”

“What do you mean?! I’m not a homophobe! Jaymi’s one of my best friends!”

“No, Josh I don’t mean that. I just wanted to fit in with you. You know have something in common. We’re so different as it is. I just wanted something we could talk about.”

“George you don’t have to be anything you’re not. I like you as you are. And I don’t mean that in a gay way.”

George smiled.

“Same here mate.”

“So do you want to go on the pull tonight?”

George hesitated.

“I don’t know.”

“Oh come on. You might meet a guy you like. In fact you’re bound to. You’re a good-looking dude … Oh you already like someone!”

“No! No I don’t.”

“Is it one of the dancers?”
“No.”

“Rylan?”

“What? No, Rylan’s a cool guy but I don’t think of him like that.”

“One of the District 3 lads?”

“No …”

“Sim?”

“No …”

“Is it an older man like Kye, Chris, Brian Friedman …”

“I’m not into older men!”

“So you don’t fancy Louis then?”, Josh smiles.

“No. Louis’s a great mentor …”

“It’s not one of us, is it?”

George hesitates.

“No.”

“It’s not me is it? Because George mate I didn’t mean to give you off that impression …”

“It’s not you!”

“Oh. Why not?!”

“Oh I can’t win with you, can I?”

“I’m a good-looking man …”

“I didn’t say you weren’t Josh. You’re just not my ty- … You’re too good of a friend that it’d just feel weird.”

“Aw! Ok, JJ then?”

“No.”

“Jaymi?”

George hesitated.

“No.”

“Oh no George mate, please say you don’t fancy Jaymi! He has Olly. They are so in love. Mate take a step back. You’re only going to get hurt.”

“I didn’t say I fancied Jaymi!”

“Mate you didn’t have to. Your lack of a quick response said it all. Does he know?!”

“I haven’t time for this Josh! You can Sherlock somewhere else!”, George said, knocking back the last of his drink, standing up and storming off.

His reaction told Josh all he needed to know.

 

Jaymi sat in their room watching Glee when Josh came in and switched it off.

“Oi! I was watching that!”

“We need to talk Jaymi.”

“Really? What about?”

“George.”

Jaymi’s face falls.

“What about George?”

“Look I know I only know George a short while but he and I have become very good friends …”

“That’s good.”

“Don’t interrupt me. This is important.”

“Ok.”

“Don’t mess him about …”

“What about Olly?! He’s my boyfriend! He’s the one I’m really messing around!”

“You’re messing them both around!”

“I’m not doing it intentionally! I told George it wasn’t his fault. I love Olly. It’s not going to go anywhere with George!”

“Have you made that clear to George?”

“Maybe not. But …”

“But nothing! You have to be honest with him!”

“Yeah I will be.”, Jaymi replied unconvincingly.

Realisation comes over Josh.

“Oh my god, you’re not sure who you love are you?”

“Of course I am! I love Olly!”, Jaymi said in an unconvincing way.

“Are you trying to convince me or yourself?”

Tears fall from Jaymi’s eyes.

“I don’t know.”

“Oh mate.”, Josh says taking him into a hug and letting him cry into him.

 

More soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

