Pearls at the V&A Exhibition!

Marilyn Monroe wears the pearl necklace which she received from  Joe DiMaggio.

Marilyn Monroe wears the pearl necklace which she received from Joe DiMaggio.

Why can't I be as stylish as Holly Golightly?! Fabulous darling!

Why can’t I be as stylish as Holly Golightly?! Fabulous darling!

I have loved pearl necklaces for as long as I can remember. I can remember trying on my mum’s and my sister’s pearl necklaces when I was younger and just admiring how beautiful they were and that love of pearls has never left me. The pearls Audrey Hepburn wears when she plays Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s are so beautiful. I love them. So it was obvious that I would love the exhibition Pearls at the V&A. It has so many beautiful pieces such as pearl pieces worn by Marilyn Monroe, Elizabeth Taylor, George III and Charles I. You can learn about the history of pearls and see the cultural importance of pearls throughout the decades as well as finding out more about pearl fishing. There is also works of art on display.

Highlights include a necklace of cultured pearls which Marilyn Monroe received from Joe DiMaggio in 1954, Elizabeth Taylor’s Bulgari pearl earrings from 1972, a pearl earring which was worn by Charles I at his execution in 1649 and peal buttons worn by George III in 1780. In terms of art works there is many paintings of nobles, affluent merchants and courtiers wearing beautiful pearls.

If I was in London I would definitely check it out. The pieces are beautiful. The history is interesting. It seems a stunning and in-depth exhibition.

Leave a Reply

