X Factor First Live Show!

So all the tears of Judges’ Houses are behind us all for another year and this week we moved on to the first live show from the class of 2013. After Dermot had took to the stage and the judges were seated the performers took to the stage to give their all and earn a place in next week’s live show. It was 1980s-themed and I love the 1980s from it’s music, style to it’s films, etc … so I love the theme. Hashtag nerd indeed!

Hannah Barrett

First up this year on the live shows was powerhouse vocalist Hannah Barrett. She sang Tina Turner’s What’s Love Got to Do with It? She sang and performed it really well. And I love Tina Turner!

Nicholas MacDonald

Next was the fantastic Nicholas MacDonald. I loved him singing Spandau Ballet’s True. I love the song and he did it justice. I didn’t think the choregraphy worked. I know it’s the 80s and cheesy is good but that was too cheesy. Still that was nothing to do with Nicholas who did his part of the performance amazingly. Such an effortless voice.

Miss Dynamix
Miss Dynamix sang The Pointer Sisters’ Jump. While I like them as a band I don’t think this performance worked.

Sam Bailey
Sam was amazing. She sang The Power of Love. It was brilliant. Breathtaking!

Sam Callahan
The two Sams came one after the other and as much as I love Sam Callahan it wasn’t great. He really went for it and performed it well but vocally it didn’t work. It needed more of an edge. It probably wasn’t the right song. Bryan Adams’ Summer of ’69 is very edgy and rocky and Sam is a pop singer so it was a bad fit. I really hoped he get through though because I like him.

Kingsland
I love Kingsland and I thought their harmonies on Wham’s I’m Your Man were fantastic. And I absolutely love Wham!

Shelley Lewis (Smith)
Wow. She was amazing. Vocally it was flawless and it was “good cheese” as Louis said. It was theatrical and fabulous. I absolutely love the song, Heart’s Alone, and Sharon did a fantastic job in helping us see a new side to Shelley as a performer. Kudos to them both. It was amazing.

Abi Alton
Abi sang Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer. I love the song and I think Abi did a great new version of it.

Lorna Simpson
I love Lorna’s voice. I thought vocally it was hit and miss but I thought she performed it really well. I hoped she’d get through because I think she has more to give. She does have an amazing voice! Also the hot men were beautiful with their chests shown and those tight leather trousers. Oh wow, wow, wow, someone get me a fan!

Tamera Foster
I think Tamera has a great voice but I don’t think this performance of Chaka Khan’s Ain’t Nobody worked.

Luke Friend
I thought Luke’s performance of Every Breath You Take by The Police was hit and miss. But he has got a really good and unique tone to his voice.

Rough Copy
I love Rough Copy. Amazing band. I loved them last year as well as this year and am so happy they came back and made the live shows this year. Best performance of the night tonight. They done their own version of Phil Collins In The Air Tonight and everything was perfect about it from the vocals to the choregraphy to the styling to the graphics in the background. They performed it so well. Me and My sister love Phil Collins too.

Then we had the new Flash Vote which is a ten-minute public vote where the contestant who finished last in the public vote is told that they will be singing in tomorrow night’s sing-off the night before. The act this week was Shelley.

The final 12 sang Daft Punk’s Get Lucky and it was a really good performance. We had brilliant guest performances from Ellie Goulding and Cher. Huge Cher fan so it was great to see her on it. From the remaining 11 contestantants the act to join Shelley in the bottom 2 was Lorna.

Shelley and Lorna did an amazing sing-off. Shelley sang Jennifer Hudson’s One Night Only and Lorna sang Faith Hill’s There You’ll Be. Though I thought they were both brilliant I did think Lorna was better. However Sharon didn’t vote and with Gary voting for Lorna but Louis and Nicole voting for Shelley, Lorna became the first to leave X Factor this year. Hard luck Lorna, best of luck with your career. You have a really great voice girl and you should be really proud of yourself!

I have to say well done to everyone on actually getting out there and performing on the telly in front of all those people. It’s not easy, their very brave and they should be very proud of themselves.

Leave a Reply

