Tom Daley Comes Out That He Is Bisexual and Says He Has A Boyfriend

The Very Brave and Inspirational Tom Daley

The Very Brave and Inspirational Tom Daley

The very brave, inspirational and amazing Olympic diver Tom Daley came out that he was bisexual today. The 19-year-old also revealed that he had a partner. In a video, posted to YouTube and then shared on his Facebook page which has already gained over 21,000 likes and 3,000 shares on Facebook Tom said his boyfriend made him feel safe, happy and secure. Aw! Daley also posted on his Twitter page: Got something I need to say…not been an easy decision to make, hope you can support me! :) http://youtu.be/OJwJnoB9EKw
“In spring this year my life changed massively when I met someone,” the Olympic bronze medallist said in the video.
“And they make me feel so happy, so safe and everything just feels great. That someone is a guy.”
Handsome Daley, who was recently named the world’s sexiest man by two magazines, said he was at first surprised that he was attracted to another man.
“It did take me by surprise a little bit. It was always in my head that something like that could happen. But it wasn’t until spring this year that things just clicked. It felt right and I thought ‘Okay’. And my whole world changed there and then.”

Daley also said,
“I’ve never felt that comfortable talking about is my relationships before. Even when I’m doing sports interviews I get asked ‘Do you have a girlfriend?’ Who are you seeing?’ I’ve been dating girls but never had a serious relationship to talk about it.”

In recent years there have been huge highs and lows for Daley who lost his father to cancer in May 2011.
“My life has been a bit of a rollercoaster,” he admitted in the video.
I lost my own dad in 2008 to heart trouble and to lose someone you love is the worse thing that can happen to you so I can emphatise with Tom about that pain. But I’m sure they are both looking over all their loved ones and I’m sure his dad is very proud of how brave he has been today from wherever he is watching. I’m sure Tom is sad that he never got to meet his boyfriend. I often think that if I met a guy who made me feel like his boyfriend makes him feel that it would be really sad that my dad never got to meet him.
“Losing my dad to cancer was one of the hardest things I had to deal with in my whole life, winning an Olympic medal in front of a home crowd, finishing my A Levels this year – it’s been hectic.”
Daley said his father Rob always said to him: “As long as you are happy, I’m happy.”
He also said about his mum Debbie: “My mum has been so supportive as well.”
He said, “”My friends and family are always there to support me and I hope you guys can be, too.”

Reclining patriotly on Union Jack bedspreads in his bedroom, Daley said he felt he needed to publish the video after he was misquoted in an interview.
“In an ideal world I shouldn’t be doing this video because it shouldn’t matter. But I was misquoted in an interview and it made me really angry and frustrated. Honesty is something I believe in,” he said.
Too true Tom.

Daley’s diving coach, Andy Banks said it would not affect his performance.
Banks said: “Tom being Tom, it will be situation normal and he’ll get on with the job. He’s diving very well.”

Edward Lord who is the chairman of the Amateur Swimming Association, said: “To be one of the first British Olympic athletes to come out is very brave.”

Gay rights campaigners Stonewall tweeted: “Moving and inspiring video from @TomDaley1994. A role model for thousands of other young people.”

Gary Lineker tweeted: “Delighted that @TomDaley1994 is happy in his new relationship. Well done for sharing it. Good luck to them both.”

Union J star Jaymi Hensley, who previously admitted that Daley was his celebrity crush, tweeted his support: “Well done @TomDaley1994 really brave thing todo! #proud”

Kylie Minogue tweeted: “@TomDaley1994 Inspiring and brave…..as always!!! #RespectTom”

Stephen Fry tweeted: “I opened the second door on my advent calendar and Tom Daley came out. Seriously @TomDaley1994 congratulations. So happy for you.”

Daley later tweeted to his 2.5m followers: “Overwhelmed by all the support! Means the world! Thanks so much guys.”

So proud and happy for you Tom. You are an absolute inspiration. So brave. I wish you and your boyfriend all the best. Love you Tom!

To see Tom’s inspirational video go to: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJwJnoB9EKw&feature=youtu.be

Leave a Reply

